Book Gift Guide for Every Reader on Your List

Popping up here on the blog again to offer you my book gift guide for every reader on your list. I spent many nights when I should have been sleeping feverishly finishing many books on this list.  Hopefully you find some great last minute gifts, vacation reads, and titles for your 2017 to-read list. Share your favorite reads from 2016 with me in the comments!

Carve out a weekend and don’t move until it’s done | For fans of JoJo Moyes and Sophie Kinsella

What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty

Cheerfully easy, deceptively simple read that will break your heat and put it right back together again.

Nonfiction for the fiction lover

Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand

Before Unbroken, there was Hillenbrand’s brilliant nonfiction book about Seabiscuit, the racehorse. She says she was compelled to tell the story because she “found fascinating people living a story that was improbable, breathtaking and ultimately more satisfying than any story [she’d] ever come across.” Good enough for me.

Science fiction for the rest of us |For fans of The Martian

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Fascinating thriller with page-turning action, grounded in family relationships. There isn’t an easy way to summarize this book without spoilers…so I won’t even try. You’ll just have to trust me.

Unputdownable (that’s a word, right?)

Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

You like the later Harry Potter books? You like the Gentleman Bastard series? Kingkiller Chronicles? You like Hunger Games? Ocean’s Eleven? Cultish barbarians reminiscent of Nazis? The idea of a Russian inspired fantasy world that has the flavor of steampunk goodness? You like LOST? Don’t mind your fantasy dark?

Imagine if all of these amazing things were diced up and the best elements of each were thrown into a blender. But instead of being a disgusting predictable mashup mess, it was still unique, but with flavor hints of all the good things to hit those cravings.

If you like those good things that are good, this is a book for you.

Stuff they don’t cover in Sunday School

A Woman’s Place by Katelyn Beaty

Beaty builds on Culture Making by Andy Crouch to explore faith and work theology as it applies specifically to women. Nothing revolutionary for anyone #woke (did I use that right? Worth a shot), but thought provoking nonetheless.

For the friend with whom you binged of Gilmore Girls: a Year in the Life

Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham

Lauren Graham is delightful. If you love her in Gilmore Girls and Parenthood, you’ll enjoy this too.

For your favorite tiny human

Lots of Lambs by Laura Numeroff and Lynn Munsinger

My 9 month old daughter highly recommends it. Watch out for the surprise ending, though. Gets her every time.

For book club or long discussions over brunch

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

Of all the books my book clubs read this year, this led to this best discussion. We covered mental health, parenting, welfare, privilege, and a whole host of topics. Consider yourselves warned, though. This is a difficult memoir about a dysfunctional family from the perspective of their young daughter.

1 Comment

  1. I just recently read the glass castle and I loved it! I bought one of her other books but I haven’t gotten into it.

Leave a Reply